Book Mail – The Salt House by Lisa Duffy

As I’m sure we can all agree on, book mail is the best kind of mail!

Mine came today in the form of an upcoming June release. I have to say, I absolutely love how Lisa sent this! This personal touch and such a sweet card. I’m so excited to dive in.

 

IMG_20170603_160249_383.jpg

 

THE SALT HOUSE by Lisa Duffy (releasing June 13th, 2017)

Here’s what Goodreads has to say about it!

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously writting, heartbreaking, yet hopefuly debut set during Marine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Main, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House – the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends house staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart – or be the path to their family’s future.

Told in alternating voices, THE SALT HOUSE is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.

A big thanks to the author, Lisa Duffy, for sending me an early copy in exchange for my honest review!

–Jess

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: