Blog Tour – Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Here is one you’ll have on your TBR and anxiously awaiting its release date!

Thanks to Crooked Lane Books for the free copy in exchange for my honest review.

LITTLE DARLINGS – Melanie Golding (Releasing April 30th, 2019)

9781683319979_FC

Book Description:

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother

“Chilling…Little Darlings is stunning.”
—Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

IMG_20190206_083941_408

My Thoughts: 4/5 stars!

I am, and always have been, a fan of retellings or darker re-imaging of fairytales and folklore. I love seeing how authors put their own spin on the classics (whether it be the Disney versions we grew up with or the Grimm tales). LITTLE DARLINGS by Melanie Golding examines the story of the changelings.

Changelings – a child believed to have been secretly substituted by fairies for the parents’ real child in infancy. Talk about a terrifying thought for a new mother. Lauren has just had twin baby boys, Riley and Morgan, and she is now convinced that they aren’t hers. Through her exhaustion and sleep deprivation, no one in the hospital believes what she saw – a woman tried to steal her babies and replace them with hers.

After returning home Lauren is determined to keep her children out of harm’s way, even if her husband doesn’t believe her. Every mother’s worst nightmare becomes her reality one day at the park, not only do her twins disappear from her side, but when she finds them she knows they are not hers.

In her quest to get her twins back we meet Harper, the detective on the case after they apprehend Lauren, but she just can’t shake this feeling that there might be some truth to what she is saying. I think that Golding did an incredible job capturing the chaos and mental strain that new mothers can experience after childbirth – it amazes me what little sleep people can run on and still be functional. This book had an eerie and dark feel from page one and that didn’t quit!

If changelings fascinate you and you want a dark, foreboding psychological/supernatural thriller, then this needs to be on your spring TBR. I cannot believe this is a debut novel – no doubt about it, I will be anxiously waiting for the next book Golding releases!

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: