#ATBR2022 – Blood Sugar by Sascha Rothchild

Happy release day to this debut thriller!

Thanks to Putnam Books for the free early copies in exchange for our honest reviews

BLOOD SUGAR – Sascha Rothchild (Releasing April 19th, 2022)

Book Description:

An utterly delicious debut thriller that tells the story of the most likable murderess you will ever meet, perfect for fans of Riley Sager and Jessica Knoll.

“I could just kill you right now!” It’s something we’ve all thought at one time or another. But Ruby has actually acted on it. Three times, to be exact.

Though she may be a murderer, Ruby is not a sociopath. She is an animal-loving therapist with a thriving practice. She’s felt empathy and sympathy. She’s had long-lasting friendships and relationships, and has a husband, Jason, whom she adores. But the homicide detectives at Miami Beach PD are not convinced of her happy marriage. When we meet Ruby, she is in a police interrogation room, being accused of Jason’s murder. Which, ironically, is one murder that she did not commit, though her vicious mother-in-law and a scandal-obsessed public believe differently. As she undergoes questioning, Ruby’s mind races back to all the details of her life that led her to this exact moment, and to the three dead bodies in her wake. Because though she may not have killed her husband, Ruby certainly isn’t innocent.

Alternating between Ruby’s memories of her past crimes and her present-day fight to clear her name, Blood Sugar is a twisty, clever debut with an unforgettable protagonist who you can’t help but root for—an addicting mixture of sour and sweet

Chandra’s Thoughts: 4/5 stars

I just love books like these.  The beginning immediately drew me in… and yes, while there are other thrillers similar in storyline/thought process, when it’s done well, it’s just done well.  And as a debut – um, okkkkk Sascha – I’ll be looking out for your future novels.

Haven’t you ever said “I could kill you/him/her/them/that/whatever”?  But what if you actually acted on these impulses – and only for ones who have wronged you or someone you love?  If they’re really a bad person, does it really even count?  I LOVE me a good “good person” with sociopathic tendencies.  So imagine you’re being accused for a murder you actually didn’t commit. Oh the irony.

I really loved heading back into Ruby’s past and seeing how the choices she made led her to a variety of different outcomes.  Folks, always remember that what you did in the past can come back to bite you… or help you.  And there’s a very thin line between wrong and right.  Or so it seems.  Ruby is a flawed character that you just can’t help but root for.  She’s always been different but can be empathetic and loving.  She’s protective and wants to help but knows she needs help herself.  It’s also a look at how quickly the media can save and/or ruin you if they want to. Misdirection, lies, looking for that heading that sells.  It’s a roller coaster of emotions and especially in this day and age… uff.

Was this book perfect? No.  Do I care? Also, no.  It was a breeze to read through and I love it when a debut crawls under my skin and sits there. 

My Thoughts: 4/5 stars

Who doesn’t love a good murderous main character? Especially when they’re only reserving it for people they deem to be bad people – a vigilante of sorts. I’m sure everyone has had that little voice in their mind when friends and loved ones have been wronged that you just want to take care of the one that hurt them. Not that I’d ever act on that but here we meet Ruby. She says she’s not a sociopath because she’s felt empathy and does feel emotion towards those in her life she loves, like her husband Jason. We start the book with her being interrogated because she is the person of interest in her husband’s murder. While there are three bodies left in her wake, Jason is not one of them.

Not only is she trying to prove her innocence, but she must also try to not implicate herself in the murders she has committed. I loved the two timelines in this: Ruby’s past and the events that brought her to where she is now, and the present day with the murder investigation. It’s so hard to not like Ruby and root for her throughout the book because why would anyone want the murderer to get away with it? Or at least prove her innocence in the crime she didn’t commit – maybe that was more so what it was here. This was a solid debut and while there have been other stories with this same topic, I thought this was really well done and still kept me on the edge of my seat. I’ll be looking for Rothchild’s next release because I’m super curious as to what she will cook up for us next.

One thought on “#ATBR2022 – Blood Sugar by Sascha Rothchild

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: