The Villa – Rachel Hawkins

The newest from Rachel Hawkins is here!

Thanks to St. Martin’s Press for the gifted copy in exchange for my honest review

THE VILLA – Rachel Hawkins (Released January 3rd, 2023)

You can see my thoughts on her other book, RECKLESS GIRLS, here! As well as the #ATBR2022 thoughts here!

Book Description:

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.

Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce’s girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album––and ends in Pierce’s brutal murder.

As Emily digs into the villa’s complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce’s murder wasn’t just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred––and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind.

Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge––and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends.

My Thoughts: 3/5 stars

I gotta say, I absolutely loved The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls was pretty fun but I’m kind of unsure of where I land with The Villa. It kept my attention throughout and I always love the multiple timelines, and there was a great twist I wasn’t expecting. There’s just something that I can’t put my finger on as to why it didn’t entirely work for me. I love the author and if you want something to entertain you with the drama and characters that can be over the top, then this is perfect for you!

2 thoughts on “The Villa – Rachel Hawkins

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: