TLC Book Tours – The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Talk about a beautiful cover!

Thanks to William Morrow and TLC Book Tours for the free copy in exchange for my honest review.

THE HUNTING PARTY – Lucy Foley (out now!)

The Hunting Party cover

Book Description:

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

IMG_20190213_094444_343

My Thoughts: 5/5 stars!

Atmospheric, claustrophobic, a murder. What more could you want in a suspense novel? A group of old friends meet for a New Year’s retreat, something they have done for a decade. This time they choose an isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands – a remote place for them to relax and enjoy each others’ company. They make it there just in time for a record breaking blizzard to hit. The problem? The amount of snow has cut this estate off from the rest of the world. With no way out, they make the most of their situation.

New Year’s Day rolls around and one of them turns up dead. Which one of these friends is the killer? How do they know who they can trust? With tensions already high, past resentments, grudges, and secrets begin to surface. Will these friends be able to stay strong as they try to find the killer?

While there were a lot of characters in this one, and multiple perspectives, I think that Foley did a great job giving them all their own voice. I think this really help build the story and you could feel the tension between everyone. After a decade of friendship, there’s bound to be some resentment, jealousy, and secrets, but what do you do when those start to boil over? This was incredibly atmospheric and you felt their complete isolation beginning to take a toll on them. I know a thing or two about being snowed in – Minnesota winters are the worst – so I could definitely relate to that!

I would highly recommend if you’re looking for a captivating suspense read! I’ll be keeping an eye out for more from Foley in the future.

Lucy Foley AP

About the Author:

LUCY FOLEY is a former editor at Hodder Fiction and has been both a literary agent and a bookseller. An avid painter, she now writes full time and lives in London, England.

Follow Lucy on Twitter and Facebook.

Where to Purchase a Copy:

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “TLC Book Tours – The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Add yours

  1. I have this one coming to me soon, I’m all about this setting and the story. I feel like blizzards are the perfect storm because you really can’t go anywhere. Thanks for being on this tour!

    Sara @ TLC Book Tours

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: