#ATBR2019 – Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

More from Christina Lauren – obviously we LOVED it!

Thanks to Gallery Books for the free advanced copies in exchange for our honest reviews

TWICE IN A BLUE MOON – Christina Lauren (Releasing October 22nd, 2019)

You can see our reviews for their other books! THE UNHONEYMOONERS (here) and MY FAVORITE HALF-NIGHT STAND (here)

PhotoGrid_1571519990323

Book Description:

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Chandra’s Thoughts: 5/5 stars

GAH! YOU GUYSSSSSSSSSS! Every time I go into a contemporary romance, I think “pshhh.. romance, *rolls eyes* whatever….” and then it’s Christina Lauren and they KILL ME. EVERY. TIME.

Nothing is more of an emotional roller coaster than your first young love and heartbreak… until your first real adult love and heartbreak.  To get that second chance with that *perfect* person. Well, hell.  Thank you books for making me believe that maybe… just *maybe*, this could happen in real life.  I mean, don’t we all need a Sam in our lives?  And Tate – how do you not fall in love with her too?

What I love about this book too is the backstory, the screen writing peppered within of Milkweed.  Tackling that subject matter in such a dignified and beautiful way.  Bringing the story that both Sam and Tate go through and making you feel it with all of your everything.  DAMMIT.  I don’t like to feel this much and YET I DO.  I keep thinking that THIS ONE isn’t going to get to me but here I am, reading emails with Tate and feeling this weird wetness in my eyeballs. Great.  JUST GREAT.

Basically, read this book.  Read all their books! Just grab a tissue box, a cozy comforter and keep that glimmer of hope shining within.

My Thoughts: 5/5 stars

I almost never pick up anything in the contemporary romance genre, but when it comes to Christina Lauren, I know I won’t be disappointed! There’s something about their writing and their stories that just suck me to where I fly through the book. This is my third book by them and TWICE IN A BLUE MOON was all I was hoping it would be.

Everyone remembers their first love, which usually ends up being your real first heartbreak. Sam and Tate had a whirlwind two weeks where they fell in love – sharing everything with each other. Years after they parted ways, their paths cross again on-set of Tate’s newest film she’s starring in. Is this the time for closure? Or is this the time for them to get a second chance at love?

We get two timelines, going back and forth between their time together when they first met and now, 14 years later when they meet again. I loved how quick this was – I didn’t realize this was what I needed right now. Something light and fun, and who doesn’t like believing in second chances? We get everything you look for in a contemporary romance – drama, struggles, love, obstacles, and of course, romance. If you’re a fan of the writing duo that is Christina Lauren, then you’ll really enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “#ATBR2019 – Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: